Doors Open 2017


Posted on May 8, 2017

Once a year, the City of Toronto invites organizations with buildings of architectural interest to open their doors to the public. On the last weekend in May, people travel all over the city exploring places that are usually private or closed. While the St. Paul’s sanctuary, or “New Church” is open every Sunday, many people have never been inside. This year, we are participating in Doors Open Toronto with the hope that many will come who have never visited before.

Our theme for the weekend is, “From the Titanic to Vimy Ridge, the decade that changed St. Paul’s”. Did you know our pulpit was given to the church by a Titanic survivor? Being the church home of the Queen’s Own Rifles, WWI had a devastating affect on the community. Over 500 members of the parish served in the war. When the church opened in 1913 the walls and windows were bare. After WWI memorial plaques and stained glass windows were put up and dedicated to loved ones who gave sacrificially for Canada.

Our church archivists have found many interesting stories and created a nine-stop tour around the church which will be available in booklet and guided form. Join us on Saturday, May 27 from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. and Sunday, May 28 from 12:30 p.m. to 4 p.m. to learn about our fascinating history.